I bet you must have heard about the heart warming story of the Make-a-wish foundation transforming San Francisco into Gotham and a five years old Miles Scott, who is recovering from leukaemia, has be super hero and living his dream for a day.  It is incredible to see thousands of strangers come together to make this little fighter dream comes true.  Amongst all the terrible things that’s happening, there is still hopes and dreams!

I feel very inspired by this mighty batkid, so I have made the following  “♥ FULLSTACK” bat cookie.

stamped

Are you interested to know how I made that cookie?

If you have been following my blog, you probably know I love to travel.  As I am travelling, I always buy baking related supply back home as souvenir for myself.  From my most recent two weeks trip to Japan and Hong Kong, here is what I have bought from 100 yen shop call “can-do” (Japanese dollar shop).     Since I love to bake , as I am using tool from different places I have traveled, it  always brings me back good and fun memory of my trip.

cookie stamp

It was my birthday when I was travelling in HK. So happy to receive this Halloween cookie cutter set as my birthday gift =) Even more excited that I look beyond Halloween theme and find use for it for the rest of the year!

halloween set

The next task is finding a good recipe. I think dark chocolate cookies matches the bat theme so, I have chosen this Christmas cookie recipe from Land O’ Lake. I have slightly altered the ingredients to make the cookies more crispy.

  • 1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa
  • 1 1/4 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/4 cups icing sugar
  • 3/8 cup softened butter (3 oz) — reduced by half
  • 3/8 cup golden buttery favoured shortening (3 oz) — sub in shortening to make the cookie more crispy
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla

Combine flour, cocoa, baking powder and salt in bowl; mix well. Set aside.

Use paddle attachment from you stand mixer, put in the butter first mix in high speed for 5 seconds to soften the butter, then add shortening and sifted icing sugar and  beat at slow speed first then switch to medium and beat until very creamy.

Crack egg into a small bowl and add vanilla, beat lightly.  Very slowly add the egg mixture into creamed butter.  Then stop the mixer and sift in the cocoa flour mixture all at once.  Finally with a spatula, hand mix until everything is well incorporated and form a smooth dough.  I find doing this last step by hand keep the floury mass in the kitchen to minimum and I also never risk over mixing and causing the cookie to be tough.

Divide dough in half. Shape each half into ball; flatten slightly. Wrap each in plastic food wrap. Refrigerate at least 2 hours or until firm.

Here is the fun thing to do while you are chilling the cookie dough.  Write out the text you want to stamp and write it backward!   You need that if you are like me, who cannot spell words backward =P  So the following example is what *NOT* to do =P  Even the character should put down in inverted directly.  So the C was facing the wrong direction  after I stamp out.   The key is before you stamp on final cookie, find a scarp piece of dough to test first.

stamp_wrong way

Before you roll an cut the cookie, preheat oven to 350F

Then you roll out cookie to 1/8 inches thick (don’t be too thin, rather have thicker cookie because we need enough height of dough for stamping.  You first cut the dough, the transfer to baking sheet and finally stamp the cookie.  Bake for 8 minutes until the wet cookie dough looks cookie.  It is impossible to tell if chocolate cookies has turn golden brown.  I normally judge by time and if dough looks dry enough.

mad cookies 1090

These pretty impressive looking cookies take very low effort to make.   It is totally fun and you can create very personalized version of cookies.  You just need to be creative and look beyond the original purpose of your baking gadget.

