After two weeks in Europe, I found myself actually cannot live without rice.   I love Europe, and I love its food and I love its culture.  Yet after a while, I just really miss plain old basic white cooked rice.   The love of rice is in my blood =)

Stir Fried Sticky Rice - Two Version (traditional vs veggie fusion)

Aside from basic rice, I also occasionally spoil myself with stir fried sticky rice.   Unlike basic cooked rice, stir fried sticky rice is  slightly sticky and it has a nice chewy bite.   Of course I love the Chinese sausage, dried scallop and shiitakes mushroom that you normally find in traditional stir fried sticky rice.   I would like to give it a little twist and see if I can be successful in trying fusion veggie version for my vegetarian friend.

I wash and then soak the following ingredients the night before:

  • a dozen dried shiitake mushroom (this is two portions, one of traditional and one for veggie)
  • 3 piece of dried scallop
  • 180g of sticky rice (for traiditional)
  • 100g of red sticky rice (for veggie version)

Cut off the tough stem and squeeze out the water from shiitake mushroom.  Keep soaking liquid for later use.

I have spend quite a bit of time chopping up shiitake mushroom, celery, carrot,  Chinese sausage into tiny uniform pieces.  Then separate the soaked dried scallop into small piece (also remember keep the dried scallop soaking water).   After so much chopping,  I cheated and opened a can of corn and used half of it.  Finally I pan fried two eggs into thin sheet and cut into long strings.  Very time consuming preparation process, but trust me it is all worth it for the final result!

I started to make the veggie version first.   In medium heat, started with carrot, celery and shiitake mushroom to draw out the wonderful favour.  Season with a bit of salt and black pepper.  Unlike baking, I really don’t have exact measurement.  Just put as much or as little as you feel like.  There is no hard rule what you are supposed to put in too.   Just go with what you feel like =)

Fusion Veggie Stir Fried Sticky Rice - start with carrot, celery and shiitake mushroom
Fusion Veggie Stir Fried Sticky Rice – start with carrot, celery and shiitake mushroom

When celery and carrot is slightly soften, I add the corn and keep stir frying until all liquid is dry out (this shouldn’t take long, only a few minutes).  Looks very pretty already eh?

Fusion Veggie Stir Fried Sticky Rice – colourful veg done!

If you have small kid (or even big kid like me) who does not really like to veggie.  This is really the best way to trick them to eat more veggie.  When it is cut up into tiny piece and looking so beautiful, I don’t mind putting them in my mouth!  To avoid over-cook, you need scope up the cooked veggie aside and start stir frying the rice.

Fusion Veggie Stir Fried Sticky Rice - pan stir frying the sticky rice & red rice
Fusion Veggie Stir Fried Sticky Rice – pan stir frying the sticky rice & red rice

Notice I spread out the rice in thin even layer and let it cook just like that for a couple minute.  Then add tablespoon of shiitake mushroom soaking water, then stir and spread out in thin layer.  Repeat this process for at least 25 minutes until the rice is completely cooked.  If you complete use up the soaking  liquid from mushroom, you can just water.  To test if the rice is done, just pick up a tiny piece and taste it.

When rice is done, I add back the cooked veggie and add more light soy sauce to taste.  Since I use red rice, it look beautifully purple already.  There is no need to use dark soy sauce to add colour.

Fusion Veggie Stir Fried Sticky Rice - ready to dish out and eat!!
Fusion Veggie Stir Fried Sticky Rice – ready to dish out and eat!!

This is really pretty and really good way to trick me to eat more veggie =P

Now back to more traditional version.  My arm was a tired after the constant stirring.   Start with pan frying out the fat from Chinese sausages, then add dried scallop and shiitake mushroom.  I did not add any salt because there is enough salt from the sausages.   I have to admit the traditional does not look as pretty, but it sure tastes very yummy.

Traditional Fried Sticky Rice - cooked sausages, dried scallop and shiitake mushroom
Traditional Fried Sticky Rice – cooked sausages, dried scallop and shiitake mushroom

For traditional version, I only use sticky rice and turned out I really don’t need to add as much liquid during stir frying.  It also seems to take a lot less time to cook than red rice.  Since I put in too much liquid and stir fried for a bit too long.  The final product become too sticky and the rice does not separate into individual grain.

Traditional Stir Fried Sticky Rick - keep stirring until my arm hurts =P
Traditional Stir Fried Sticky Rick – keep stirring until my arm hurts =P

Here is the final product.  Great for packing as lunch!!

Traditional Stir Fried Sticky Rice - looks almost like store bought version eh?
Traditional Stir Fried Sticky Rice – looks almost like store bought version eh?

This recipe is inspired by http://en.christinesrecipes.com/2010/07/stir-fried-glutinous-rice.html

