This is my third geeky post during my “Impulsive Travelling 2012: Spain & Germany”.   I have been running a session of PathTest whenever I have WIFI connection.   Please remember to follow this blog if you are interested to see the geeky side of my latest trip =)

Feeling very excited about finally starting my real travelling.  Arrived in Madrid very late but the custom was super efficient.  But then it also helped a lot when  the non-EU line was super short (less than 5 persons).  I am very impressed by its new, very clean and organized metro system.  It only costed me 1.5 euro to take metro from airport back to my hostel!  I am really not sure what I have paid really covered the cost.

The internet in this hotel connection feels smooth.  I am continuously using my laptop, iPad and iPhone and not notice any issue.  Here is the PathTest result.

PathTest (TM) v.4.6.0 build 4639
Copyright (c) 2011, AppNeta Inc. All Rights Reserved.
Testing to 69.171.242.74 ...
Done!
Test Settings:
-------------
 Protocol: ICMP
 Direction: bidirectional (outbound and inbound simultaneously)
 Duration: 5 seconds
 Socket buffer: 373760 bytes (365K)
Info:
----
 Client
 ------
 Local IP: 192.168.1.80
 Remote IP: 69.171.242.74
 Default RX buffer: 8 KB
 Actual RX buffer: 365 KB
 Default TX buffer: 8 KB
 Actual TX buffer: 365 KB
 MTU: 1500
Results:
-------
 Sent
 2.901 MBytes -->------>------>------>------>------>------>------>------>
 1934 packets                                                           |
 5.009286 seconds                                                       |
 Total = 9.266 Mbps | Each way = 4.633 Mbps                             |
                                                                        |
 Received                                                               V
 2.901 MBytes <------<------<------<------<------<------<------<------<--
 1934 packets
 5.009286 seconds
Like PathTest? Then check out trypathview.com. It provides even more key
network performance metrics (without flooding!) enabling continuous testing
of end-to-end network performance without impacting your production traffic.
Pretty nice single room in s hostel
