Browsing my list of recipe and find I actually never post the most basic cookie recipe.  This is because I never come across a recipe that I really like the result until I found this from very interesting post about “A Day in the Life of an Intern-Making the Perfect Chocolate Chips Cookie“.  It is so neat to have peak into such a “sweet” intern job.

Here is the ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups of butter (I used unsalted butter, so I added in 1/4 teaspoon of salt to the recipe)
  • 1 1/4 cup of sugar
  • 1 1/4 cup of firmly packed brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tablespoon of vanilla
  • 1 teaspoon of baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon of baking soda
  • 2 cup of chocolate chips ( I used 1 cup of chocolate chips + 1 cup of  chocolate fudge chips)
Sift flour, salt, baking powder, baking soda together and set aside.
With stand mixer, using paddle attachment in medium speed, cream butter with sugar & brown sugar until fluffy and light.  Then in measurement cup, lightly beat the eggs & vanilla and gradually pour in the egg mixture to sugar butter mixture.
Preheat oven to 375F.  Then take mixing bowl out and use hand and spatula to mix the flour into batter. I find hand mixing flour result in more tender cookie and you have less flour flying in your kitchen ;-)
Scope out the cookie with ice-cream disher on parchment paper (or silicon baking sheet) lined cookie sheet.  The cookie will grow!!  So remember to leave a lot of space in between.
Baking 8 Cookies per Sheet
Baking 8 Cookies per Sheet
Look closer, notice I have split the perfect round scope of cookie dough a half and reattached together.  This result in a slightly rough edge (more natural) look.  The cookie can spread more evenly with this slight alternation!  Only take a few more minute but make a huge difference.  Highly recommend this method.
Split and Reattached Cookie Dough
Split and Reattached Cookie Dough

Bake for 10 to 11 minutes until beautifully golden brown.

Done Baking after 10 to 11 minutes
Done Baking!

I am very happy with the result of the cookie.  I like using both baking powder and baking soda for a slightly more puffy cookie.  Using just baking soda will result in much flatter and crispier cookie which not the way I like it.  I will definitely make this recipe again but I need to  find a way to reduce sugar without affecting resulting texture.  2 1/2 cup of sugar + brown sugar is indeed too much.   Too sweet for my taste.

