One of the main reason buying an iPad is for baking!  I don’t need to print out any recipe any more!!  So happy about that.

Oopss.. my kitchen does look pretty messy

rabbit cake 243

Slightly alter the recipe from Land O’ Lakes.  Reduced the sugar and replaced butter with golden shortening.  This is the quickest cookie to prepared because you don’t have to cream sugar + butter for a long time by using shortening.  If you need to do some  quick baking, this is definitely the best choice!

Here are the ingredients:

  • 1 cup firmly packed brown sugar ( I reduced to 3/4 cup and still taste sweet enough)
  • 1/3 cup butter (I replaced with golden shortening)
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter (I used smooth & creamy kind)
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon of vanilla ( I used slightly more – 1 1/2 teaspoon)
  • 1 1/2 cup of AP flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt (I omitted this)

rabbit cake 244

Pre-heat oven to 375F (I will reduce to 360F next time as cookies appears to be too brown from my new darker baking pan).   Combine brown sugar, shortening and peanut butter in a large bowl with spatula (the beauty of this recipe, don’t need to bring out my kitchen aid,  much easier to cleanup!)  Keep mixing until well blended.  Add egg and vanilla and continue to mix until well mixed.  Shift in flour in three additions and mix well with the butter mixture.

Shape dough into 1-inch balls and place 2 inches apart.   I use disher for even portioning.  I am just loving my new cookies baking sheet because it has marked bottom to make evenly spacing cookies such a breeze now.  Flatten balls in criss-cross pattern with fork. Bake for 8 minutes or until edge are lightly browned.

