sesame macaron 118

My second try on macaron. Turned out much better than my first attempt. Honestly, I am not a huge fan eating it but I do love the process of making it. It is a little intimidating because of the meringue and it does require pretty decent piping skill. It is very good baking practice exercise and looks very pretty when successful.

What really motivated me to make my own macaron was my experience of paying 16 for only 6 pieces of macaron from Laudree in Paris. Not only the expensive price tag, I had to waste 40 minutes waiting in line on my last day of travel. Yes, the macarons from Laudree were very pretty and taste very good, especially the cameral version! I kept on thinking.. well.. I can do that. Probably not as perfect as Laudree but should still be pretty decent. My first try was not very successful. I was probably baking in higher temp that my green tea macaroon turn out a bit brown on the edge. It was just crunchy with empty shell, not chewy bit at all.

Since I need some pretty looking decoration on top of the mousse cakes I am trying to make these day, I thought it is probably a good idea to retry macaron and use it as decoration. Stumbled on a sesame macaron recipe from Food je taime with very good detail instruction.

Follow every single step – even the scary “aging” egg white overnight advise. It does sounds odd and questionable. But it really works. The resulting batter was much easier to handle.

Here are the list of ingredients (very simple, no excuse for not giving this simple cookies a try):

  • 3 egg whites (yes! aged!!)
  • 3/8 teaspoon of cream of tartar (my little insurance to ensure stable meringue – feel free to omit this)
  • 30 g of granulated sugar
  • 200 g of icing sugar
  • 95 g of sliced almond
  • 15 g of toasted black sesame seed

Here is the steps:

  1. grind sesame seeds, almond & icing sugar into fine flour
  2. mix the ground sesame & almond flour with reminding icing sugar
  3. sift this flour mixture 3 times (remember to pick out the bit bit of almond too)
  4. in a large heavy stable bowl, add egg whites and cream of tartar
  5. prepare your piping bag and tip and set aside
  6. use a hand mixer to beat egg white until foamy
  7. gradually add granulated sugar in a slow string while continue to beat the white
  8. keep beating egg white until stiff peak
  9. sift the almond icing sugar mixture into meringue
  10. pre-heat oven to 280F (if u find ur oven is normally too hot, lower the tempto 260F)
  11. pipe out 1 inch drop of batter with a lot of space in between (batter can spread)
  12. leave this piped shell to stand for 20 to 30 minutes (or until the shell is dryand not sticky to touch)
  13. bake for 15 to 20 minutes
  14. let the baked shell cool down completely and move to cooling rack

I was not sure if I can pipe out the batter uniformly, so I drew little 1 inch circle to help guide myself with even shape. Only need this aid for the first batch, because I already got the handle with piping. Remember to invert the parchment paper when piping so u are not piping on the pencil mark!

sesame macaron 006

Mixed sesame/almond with icing sugar. So pretty!

sesame macaron 009

Sifted sesame/almond flour on the meringue – I was thinking that was not “sesame” dark enough, but actually turn out very pretty!

sesame macaron 013

Piped out and let stand for 30 minute – this is supposed to the ensure the “foot” is formed

sesame macaron 023

Done baking! Looking pretty eh?

sesame macaron 032

Line up the ones with similar size

sesame macaron 059

Filled with basic filling of sesame paste and taste amazingly good. Just *LOVE*this favour! If you think u don’t really like macaron, start with this recipe, it will change your mind.

Packed ‘em up and brought that into office as my typical Monday snack offer

sesame macaron 135

