I couldn’t believe that recipe would actually work when I first read it. Here are the ingredients:

  • 225g of cake flour
  • 348g of cold whipping cream
  • 3 large eggs (room temp)
  • 2 tsp of baking powder
  • 1/3 tsp of salt (original recipe as for 3/4 but I want to cut down a bit sodium)
  • 2 tsp of vanilla extra (only use 1 tsp in original recipe, but I like vanilla)
  • 225 g fine sugar (grinded regular granulated sugar with my magic bullet for about 15 seconds)

Where is the butter? Why is there so much whipping cream, will it be too much liquid?! Something is seems odd, but the recipe really works. I was only willing to try this recipe because it is from my most trusted cook book writer – Rose Levy Beranbanm.

It was like magic to see how the batter turn out just like normal butter cake batter after whipping up the cream to stiff peak then add egg + vanilla mixture follow by sugar. I love that excellent tip about using beater attachment to mix in the flour quickly and evenly too. I just love it. I already downloaded the kindle sample version of Heavenly Cake. Maybe I shouldn’t be so cheap and cough up only $19 for the full version. I really like the detail explanation and tips from all of Rose’s recipe.

The taste and texture is different from my most common used cream cheese base butter cake. I still like my own cream cheese base butter cake a little bit more because it has a nice tangy taste and smell just incredible. However, I think I will try whipped cream cake recipe as cup cake base next time and see how it will turn out! This is the best way to use up my 1 litter of whipping cream!! So easy and so much fun to make!!

You must check out the detail detail step from Rose Levy Beranbanm’s site if you decide to make this cake!

Ready for baking – I was a little worry my pan is not big enough for this cake. Only half filled but the result

whipped cream cake 113

Very pretty top after baking for 35 minutes. Notice how tall the cake has risen

whipped cream cake 115

After cooling for 30 minutes, ha.. doesn’t that look like monster size doughnut =P

whipped cream cake 118

Couldn’t wait and tried a tiny piece…. So soft, so delicate. Amazing!

whipped cream cake 119